Uncategorized

God doesn’t like big ‘buts’.

Does your faith make your ‘but’ look big?

So often we say stuff like:
‘I know God is capable of miracles, but …’
‘I know God loves me, but …’
‘I know God’s timing is perfect, but …’
And so on!

We need to be careful about what we say, because it has a heck of a lot to do with what we believe! If i believe in the God of the Bible, and in the Son of God, Jesus Christ and all that the Bible says they are, then is there room for a ‘but’? I hope you answered ‘no’. Do you believe that God loves you? Do you think He’s forgotten about you? Do you know that He has good plans for your future, to prosper you? Do you believe you have His favour and there’s not a damn thing you have to do to earn it? Start paying attention to what you’re saying and what you’re thinking, because if you keep throwing a ‘but’ in there, chances are you’re not believing God to be who He says He is… and He’s no liar.
‘I know i have God’s favour, but …’
‘I know God will show me what to do, but …’
‘I know God will provide, but …’

There are so many examples of big ‘buts’ that I could go on forever, but i’m sure you get the point by now.
I think a good challenge, would be to ask ourselves this question: Do we believe the Bible to be the truth? Yes or no.
If we say ‘yes’, then we need to start living like we do. Believing Christ for everything He promises, everything He says and everything He IS …

… ‘But’ nothing!!

Proverbs 3:5-6

Lean on, trust in, and be confident in the Lord with all your heart and mind and do not rely on your own insight or understanding. In all your ways know, recognise, and acknowledge Him, and He will direct and make straight and plain your paths.

Lene x

Leave a Reply

