Uncategorized

Your Mountain is Waiting …

Normally, when I think of a situation that would require a great deal of courage, I imagine some sort of physical battle, the possibility of losing my life, a rather overwhelming endeavour that has taken a great deal of planning and preparation … however, this week, i began to look at courage differently.

These thoughts have probably been inspired by the book i’m currently reading: “I Dared To Call Him Father” by Bilquis Sheikh, the autobiographical story of a Muslim woman in Pakistan who has an encounter with God and converts to Christianity. A book that i highly recommend reading if you haven’t already… Anyhow, it’s exactly this kind of journey that comes to mind when I think of praying for courage, you know, because I do everything else in my life with such ease and confidence (not). I realised that, although this book is about one woman’s spiritual journey, we all have our own spiritual journeys that require equal amounts of courage, and God started showing me many examples of this.

I think we often, with good intentions, find ourselves praying “Lord, I will go where you lead me, and do whatever you ask” … imagining something like immigrating, planting a church or adopting a baby. However, how often do we forget about the every day things that God asks us to do in our every day lives?

Am I courageous enough to trust God with my money …
To trust the church with it?
Am I courageous enough to stay single for the rest of my life …
Or to be married?
Are you courageous enough to stay married?
To have children, or to know you might never experience being a parent?
Are you courageous enough to change your lifestyle because you know that it’s not beneficial or pleasing to God?
Are you courageous enough to end a destructive relationship?
To chase your dreams?
To be yourself and allow others the same freedom without comparison?
Are you courageous enough to show your weaknesses and reach out to others?
Perhaps you’re struggling to find the courage to turn to Christ because of your past, or you present …
Are you courageous enough to pray? Take heart …

Deuteronomy 31:6-8
Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.”

Joshua 1:9-11
Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.

Psalm 31:24
Be strong and take heart, all you who hope in the LORD

In these moments when we find ourselves thinking “I’m just not sure if i can …” Be assured that God promises to be with us. He promises to never leave our side. We can have full faith and confidence in our Father because of His love for us, His strength in our weakness, and His favour for us.

So in the words of Dr Seuss: “You’re off to great places, today is your day, your mountain is waiting, so… get on your way!”
(From ‘Oh the Places You’ll Go – another book that i highly recommend 😉

‘Lene’ xx

 

One thought on “Your Mountain is Waiting …

Leave a Reply

