Uncategorized

It’s pole vault time, and I’m raising the bar! 

I thought I would go to the ends of the earth for love … Turns out I never left the doorstep! 

I’ve had a bit of a ‘knock and the door would be opened to you’ approach to dating… Which isn’t necessarily a bad thing in terms of sharing something special with someone unexpected … But you gotta be careful who you invite in! Sometimes it’s a very fine line between graciously overlooking someone’s past or present ‘flaws’, and actually making excuses for the ever-lowering bar you’ve set for yourself! 

I have friends who are super ‘fussy’ about who they date! The bar is so high I sometimes wonder if any man would be able to reach it! But maybe that’s because I’m so used to looking down at my own bar that (I’ve now realized) people could just step over… Right onto my little heart, that I get a sore neck looking up at theirs.

It’s normal for us to desire marriage, intimacy and a best friend to share forever with, but when I look back, I look a little … I have to say it … Desperate! As much as it pains me to admit it, I was totally desperate! Desperate to be loved intensely, passionately, with the kind of love that would inspire ‘the man’ to go to the ends of the earth for me if there was such a place! And every time I thought about it – thought about another way I want to be loved – what flashed before my eyes was the cross! 

I realized then, that I was seeking this love from men who were incapable of fulfilling those intense desires. They failed hopelessly every time. Those feelings of dissatisfaction and longing lead to a whirlwind of emotions, temptations, lust and, ultimately, sin. I realized then that I was craving to be loved in a way that only Christ can, and does love me! 

When you’re lifting your head to look at the person of Christ and His work on the cross, it’s much harder to look down! The bar that you’ve set (lying in the mud at this point) has no other option but to rise! 

And may it rise up, and rest in a place that will only be seen by those looking in the same direction, who divinely have everything they need to reach it! 

At the end of the day, no one will ever be able to love you in the same way that you are loved by God! That’s one bar, that is unattainable!

Jolene x

Leave a Reply

