Uncategorized

What To Expect When You’re Expecting … for the spiritually pregnant.

Most of us can relate to waiting on God to perform some sort of miracle in our lives. And those in-between times can be rather challenging – to put it mildly.

I don’t know about you, but i seem to represent someone with a split personality during a time like this. One minute I’m filled with faith, waiting patiently with the peace of a flowing river … and the next i find myself tempted to say ‘You know what just leave it … the moment’s passed Lord, You’ve taken too long and i’m over it now.’ Of course i don’t really mean this, and two seconds later i’m apologising for my temper tantrum, and humbly ‘submitting my request’ again.

I also sometimes battle with what i actually believe about God. For example:
I know without a doubt that God loves me, but i think He just forgot about me, perhaps?  OR …
It’s not that i don’t believe God CAN … but I’ve been disappointed so many times that I have a hard time believing He WILL …

Tsk tsk tsk … poor humans.
God not only loves us, He knows EXACTLY how too look after us. This, we need to remember.

Romans 8:22-25 (MSG) says …

22-25 All around us we observe a pregnant creation. The difficult times of pain throughout the world are simply birth pangs. But it’s not only around us; it’s within us. The Spirit of God is arousing us within. We’re also feeling the birth pangs. These sterile and barren bodies of ours are yearning for full deliverance. That is why waiting does not diminish us, any more than waiting diminishes a pregnant mother. We are enlarged in the waiting. We, of course, don’t see what is enlarging us. But the longer we wait, the larger we become, and the more joyful our expectancy.

Oh Paul, you make it sound so easy …

Ok, I know that this is the second time that childbirth has been used as a metaphor for what we’re going through (I brought it up in my previous blog post) but even though i have no idea what childbirth feels like, i can relate. I act a lot like a person in stage 3 labour when I have my ‘what’s taking so long’ meltdowns. It’s not pretty.

The way i see it though, is that I have no other option. I might be waiting for what feels like forever, but at least there’s a hope of a delivery. Were I to abandon faith and do it on my own … it’s a guaranteed failure.

We have an almighty God, and an extremely personal God, and i challenge us all to expect great things from Him!

Ephesians 3:20 (MSG)

20-21 God can do anything, you know—far more than you could ever imagine or guess or request in your wildest dreams!

Jo x

Leave a Reply

